Thread: Track day advice

I'm a newbie Club Member
    Feedback

Track day advice

Hoping for my first track car this year and wondered if anyone could give some advice on the best/cheapest way to get it to and from the tracks.

Looking at a rwd with cheapish spares so leaning towards an E46 330ci, probably one thatís been used for track before so would be modded. This would be a 5-6 events a year thing so not sure if small (legal?)trailer is the best/cheapest way as i donít need another road car. Towing capacity should be ok for 1700kg.

Tried google for an hour tonight and didnít get much on the to and fro journey element.

Thanks in advance

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Foxx; 11-01-19 at 23:20.

What search button? Club Member Spunkmeyer's Avatar
    Feedback
    8 (100%)

Track day advice

There is a track car owners thread on here. Good way is to find a friend who does track days and go along to one of the days to see whatís what and ask questions.

Do you need help with car choice and car prep or more how a track day works?

TRACK DAY ORGANISERS
    Opentrack/Javelin/Bookatrack/Trackdays/MSV/Gold Track

Days are cheaper in winter £99-275 in summer £150-500

Track name and area (ish)
    Donington (Derby)
    Oulton Park (Cheshire)
    Three Sisters (Wigan)
    Mallory Park (Rugby)
    Rockingham (Kettering)
    Bedford Autodrome
    Curborough (Lichfield)
    Anglesey (North Wales)
    Caldwell Park (Lincoln)
    Bruntingthorpe (M6/A14)
    Kendrew Barracks
    Brands Hatch (SE)
    Knockhill (Edinburgh ish)
    Silverstone
    Pembrey (South Wales)
    Castle Coombe (Wiltshire)
    Croft (NE)
    Thruxton (South)

Cheap as chips? Clio, MX5

For car Ideas go like the Track Day Organisers Facebook pages and they will have photos of every car attending every event so scroll through

RWD or FWD?/ Cost of parts/ availability of parts/ easy for you or cheap mechanic to work on/ Manual/ Engine size, power is of interest but handling more so